This weekend Mike and I took a trip east for a some wedding prep.  We looked at two possible reception sites - The Harbor Room in Gloucester and the American Legion in Manchester.  Both venues had pretty waterfront views...
Picture
The Harbor Room
Picture
American Legion post 113
I also went dress shopping for the first time with my mom and sister.  My mother's friend had recommended a shop in Portsmouth, New Hampshire called Madeleine's Daughter.  Tucked away into an shopping plaza, this shop was amazing.  The staff were so professional, friendly, and helpful.  I came in with a few pictures of dresses that I liked, but said I was open to almost anything.  Somehow the consultant put together all the elements she could tell I loved, and walked in with a dress that somehow combined them all beautifully.  Even though I tried on 4 or 5 different gowns, I fell in love with that first one.  I wish I could post a picture here, but I'll be traditional and keep it a secret for now!

A couple of bonus...I brought Mike to the beach where I had wanted to have the ceremony.  Luckily, he loves it as much as I do!  We also stopped by to visit my grandparents while we were in town.  Grandma pulled out her own wedding album and told all kinds of great stories.  We both left imagining a wedding where the whole town shows up and everyone eats sandwiches and Italian cookies and dances the Polka to a live band...
Crystal
3/6/2011 05:43:39 am

Who would have thought that an American Legion would have such an amazing view!!!! LOVE IT!

and what pretty names to put on your invites..."half moon" "manchester-by-the-sea"... it sounds like a fairy tale!

Reply
Kristi
3/6/2011 06:58:51 am

You are so sweet:) Can't wait to visit in a couple weeks!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.